The CE mark is a shortened form of Conformité Européenne, which means "European conformity" and is the mark of the European Union regulatory community. It symbolizes the product's compliance with all important requirements relating to safety, public health and consumer protection.

The CE marking is required for certain product categories sold in the EU and the European Economic Area (EEA). Some products sold outside the EEA may also be labeled if manufactured and intended for the EEA. The CE marking consists of the CE logo and sometimes a four-digit identification code from the notified body that rated the product. You can consider the best CE marking services for your products via

According to CE requirements, each person has specific responsibilities depending on their role in handling the product. Specific responsibilities include:

  • Manufacturer

The manufacturer must follow a series of steps defined by the product and the associated risks. The process begins with determining whether the product is covered and what guidelines apply. You must understand how the product meets the critical design and manufacturing requirements of the directive. Using the table of conformity assessment procedures, the manufacturer ensures that the product conforms to the acceptable directive options.

All CE markings have an associated technical document containing the identification of the product, the tests performed, a list of relevant directives and standards, the manufacturer's contact, and the signature.

The CE marking is affixed to the product in accordance with the established rules regarding the size and position of the mark, the affixing to the product, the documentation that comes with the product and the packaging.

Check and confirm that the non-EU product meets the required EU standards and that the manufacturer has taken the necessary steps. In addition, the importer must ensure that the documents are available.

  • Products that must have the CE mark

CE is mandatory but not for all products sold in the EU or EEA, marking is only required for products covered by the New Approach Directive. This includes products that range from medical devices to civilian explosives and from toys to electrical equipment. Some of these product categories are:

Cable line

  • In-vitro diagnostics
  • Low voltage product
  • machine
  • Measuring tools
  • Medical equipment
  • Noise emission to the environment
  • firework
  • radio equipment
  • Telecommunications equipment
  • Products that do not require the CE marking:

Chemical material

  • Pharmaceutical products
  • Cosmetics and groceries.